Coconut Brownies

September 27, 2008

brown_5

 

As I was checking out food blogs today I came across a recipe for black bean brownies.  I was just dying to try them out but I had only about two of the required ingredients.  As sad as I was to have to pass up such an intriguing dish I still had a craving for brownies.  I have never made vegan brownies let alone gluten free and sugar free so I was pretty nervous.  My main concern was the consistency and staving off bitterness.  Feeling a little daring and wanting so bad to make a “healthy” brownie with bean somehow involved in the mix, I came up with this recipe…

 


Ingredients:

2 cups chickpea flour

1/2 cup rice flour

2 Tbsp arrowroot flour

2 Tbsp ground flaxseed with 6 Tbsp water

10 Tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder (I use cocoa camino brand)  

1/2 cup shredded coconut (optional)

1/2 cup agave nectar 

1/2 cup maple syrup

2 tsps vanilla extract

3 Tbsp vegetable oil

6 generous Tbsp vegetable oil 

Directions:

In a small bowl, mix together the flaxseeds and water.  Whisk briskly to get it a little thick.  Set aside.

Sift the chickpea flour and the rice flour together in a bowl.  Add the arrowroot,  and cocoa powder.  Whisk together.  

In a seperate bowl mix together the rest of the ingredients until nice and smooth.

Gently add in the coconut or any nuts you would like.  Try adding in a few handfuls of chocolate or carob chips/chunks!  

Pour into a well greased baking pan and bake at 350 Degrees Celcius for 35-40 minutes. Watch carefully after twenty minutes!

 

* IMPORTANT NOTE

For a moister brownie, either pop these in the fridge overnight and wait (you should store them in your fridge anyways) OR  try adding:

2-3 tbsp of Coconut butter/oil (premelted)

DO NOT LICK THE BATTER YOU WILL SORELY REGRET IT!

 

Garnish with coconut, nuts, fruit or icing.  I used an icing from “dining in the raw” that’s made from carob powder, braggs, tahini, agave, vanilla extract and brown rice syrup.

wow_brownie

 

Leave a comment